Six Individuals and One Team Comprise 2010 Hall of Fame Class - Southeast Missouri State University Athletics
Skip To Main Content
Six Individuals and One Team Comprise 2010 Hall of Fame Class

Six Individuals and One Team Comprise 2010 Hall of Fame Class

July 16, 2010

CAPE GIRARDEAU, Mo. - Six individuals and one team will be inducted into the Southeast Missouri Athletic Hall of Fame during induction ceremonies on Dec. 3, 2010 at the Show Me Center.

The individuals include Krista Haukap Davis (Volleyball, 1997-2000), Terrence Branch (Track & Field, 1990-94), Bruce Thomas (Wrestling, 1972-75), Dale Meier (Baseball, 1961-64), Ted Henderson (Basketball, 1952-54) and Clarence Bergman (All Sports, 1927-31). The team is the 1969 men's track team.

Haukap Davis led Southeast to four Ohio Valley Conference titles and one NCAA Tournament berth (2000). She garnered all-conference honors three years, earning the league's Player of the Year Award in 2000 and Freshman of the Year Award in 1997. Haukap Davis still holds a number of school and OVC records. She is married to current Providence College head men's basketball coach and former Southeast assistant coach Keno Davis.

Branch was an NCAA Division I All-American after placing sixth in the 1994 NCAA 400-meter finals. He holds the second-fastest 400-meter time in Southeast history at 45.52 and was the 1994 OVC Champion in both the 400 and 4x100-meter relay.

Thomas was a two-time All-American wrestler. He placed second, fifth, seventh and eighth in four years at the NCAA Division II Championships. Thomas was also a three-year captain and is a member of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame. In addition, he spent two years as a lineman on the Southeast football team.

Meier established numerous pitching records over his four-year career. He registered a total of 16 wins and three saves and was involved in 51 percent of Southeast's wins during that time. In 1964, Meier had nine victories and one save, and pitched Southeast's first no-hitter of the modern era. A two-time Most Valuable Player (1963, 1964), Meier went on to play professionally for five years in the St. Louis Cardinals organization.

Henderson was the leading scorer on the 1952-53 and 1953-54 basketball teams, earning All-Missouri Intercollegiate Athletic Association honors each of those seasons. He finished his career with 781 points. Henderson was also a great rebounder, who later had a successful basketball career in the Marine Corps. He received the Purple Heart and Bronze Star for Valor in 1968 after being seriously wounded in Vietnam.

Bergman, who is deceased, lettered four years in four sports, including football, basketball, baseball and track. He scored the first touchdown in the dedication game at Houck Stadium on Oct. 3, 1930. Bergman was a captain of three teams.

The 1969 team won the MIAA indoor and outdoor track titles. The team, which was coached by Southeast Hall of Famer Marvin Rosengarten, had 28 members qualify for the NCAA Championships. That team also set school records in 13 different events.

The Southeast Athletic Hall of Fame currently includes 60 individuals and 12 teams.

The Hall of Fame induction on Dec. 3 is open to the public with tickets selling for $25 each. To reserve tickets, call 573-651-2227.

Print Friendly Version

Related News

Pinterest - Pin It