2016 Scholar Athlete Banner
Keith Hente


197 Scholar-Athletes Honored at Annual Banquet

CAPE GIRARDEAU, Mo. – The Southeast Missouri Department of Athletics honored 197 Scholar-Athletes Thursday evening at the Student Recreation Center North for achieving a 3.0 cumulative grade point average.
"For over sixty percent of our student-athlete population to achieve a 3.0 GPA or higher is phenomenal to see," said Interim Director of Athletics Brady Barke. "I am more and more impressed by these young men and women each year as they juggle academics, athletics, and personal lives. Their drive to succeed in all aspects of their lives is a testament to the type of student-athlete our coaches strive to bring to Southeast Missouri State University."
Southeast Missouri State University President Dr. Carlos Vargas opened the evening by welcoming those in attendance.
Dr. Jayhan Muragaser from Southeast Health, the evening's presenting sponsor, was the keynote speaker at the event.
Southeast honored 15 recipients of the Ohio Valley Conference Medal of Honor who were in attendance. In all, 27 Southeast Missouri student-athletes were the recipients of the OVC Medal of Honor in the 2014-15 academic year for achieving a 4.0 GPA. 
Football student-athlete Fletcher Evans was awarded the Hamby Award. The award is given annually to the football letterman with the highest GPA. The award is given in honor of former Southeast Missouri line coach Jim Hamby and is sponsored by the Hamby Family. Evans was also recognized as a Medal of Honor recipient. 
Baseball student-athlete Brady Wright received the Jewel Award. The Jewel Award is named after professor of biology Don Jewel. It is given each year to a senior athlete with the highest GPA for his career.
Women's gymnastics' Alexandria Stokes was the recipient of the Trombetta Award. The award is given to a graduating female student-athlete with the highest GPA.
Print Friendly Version
Pinterest - Pin It