Tom Matukewicz


Matukewicz Finishes Tied for Ninth in Eddie Robinson Award Voting

CHICAGO - Southeast Missouri head football coach Tom Matukewicz finished tied for ninth in the overall voting for the 2018 STATS Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award.

Matukewicz tallied 98 points and a pair of first-place nods in the overall voting by a national panel of 153 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries. East Tennessee State head coach Randy Sanders shared the ninth-place spot with Matukewicz.

Matukewicz, the 2018 Ohio Valley Conference Coach of the Year, guided SEMO to its first winning season since 2010 and only its second playoff berth in school history this year. After back-to-back 3-8 seasons, the Redhawks finished at 9-4 overall and 6-2 in OVC play and ranked 20th in the nation (its first ranking since the 2014 season, and first time ranked in the Coaches Poll since 2014). During the year, the Redhawks topped #4 Jacksonville State, 37-14, ending the Gamecocks OVC record 36-game Conference winning streak. SEMO also upended #15 Stony Brook for its first-ever NCAA Playoff win in school history. That win was the fifth by Matukewicz over a nationally-ranked team during his five-year tenure (most wins over ranked foes by any coach in SEMO history).

Offensively, SEMO broke single-season school records in points scored (482) and points per game (37.1), and led the nation in fumbles lost (1). Defensively, the Redhawks led the Football Championship Subdivision in interceptions (23), turnover margin (+24) and turnovers gained (36).

UC Davis' Dan Hawkins is this year's winner of the Eddie Robinson Award. Hawkins will be honored at the STATS FCS Awards Banquet and Presentation Jan. 4 in Frisco, Texas – on the eve of the national championship game.

2018 Eddie Robinson Award results:
1. Dan Hawkins, UC Davis: 24-23-19-17-14-317
2. Brian Bohannon, Kennesaw State: 30-17-14-16-12–304
3. Dan Hunt, Colgate: 16-12-20-18-18–242
4. Curt Mallory, Indiana State: 23-16-12-6-7–234 
5. Chris Klieman, North Dakota State: 11-15-20-14-21–224
6. Joe Harasymiak, Maine: 18-16-12-9-12–220
7. Bob Surace, Princeton: 7-18-17-19-11–207
8. Eric Morris, Incarnate Word: 12-10-13-14-18–185 
9. (Tie) Tom Matukewicz, Southeast Missouri: 2-7-9-12-9–98
9. (Tie) Randy Sanders, ETSU: 4-8-6-7-14–98
11. Sam Washington, North Carolina A&T: 3-3-5-3-3–51
12. Roger Hughes, Stetson: 1-4-3-5-4–44 
13. Dale Lindsey, San Diego: 1-1-0-7-5–28 
14. Fred McNair, Alcorn State: 0-2-2-4-2–24
15. Jerry Schmitt, Duquesne: 1-1-1-2-3–19
A first-place vote was worth five points, a second-place vote four points, a third-place vote three points, a fourth-place vote two points and a fifth-place vote one point.

Print Friendly Version
Pinterest - Pin It